Skip to content

Conference At The European Parliament On 'A New Space Policy For Europe'

Europe’s future in space and the opportunities it will offer to us all will be discussed at a conference in Brussels on October 26–27 under the aegis of the European Parliament.

For the very first time, a European Treaty – the Lisbon Treaty – which entered into force on 1st December 2009, advocates the implementation of a genuine European space policy.

The institutional progress should give a decisive impulse to space programmes such as Galileo for satellite navigation and GMES for Earth monitoring and security, as well as to the European Union’s other ambitions for space exploitation and exploration. This will have a decisive impact on the many key scientific, economic, industrial and social stakes involved.

The development will also lead to a redistribution of institutional responsibilities: firstly, between member states and the European institutions, by giving a deciding role to the Commission and the European Parliament, and secondly between these institutions and the European Space Agency (ESA). This raises critical questions ranging from political responsibility and financing to project management and programme governance.

These all have serious consequences for Europe’s future space ambitions and for the huge range of services this new space infrastructure can provide to improve public welfare. They include better management of the environment and natural resources, scientific progress, entrepreneurial opportunities and enhanced public security.

Come and debate these issues and give us your input to this exciting new policy.

The President of the European Parliament, Jerzy Buzek, the President of the European Council, Herman Van Rompuy, the Vice President of the European Commission, Antonio Tajani, the Director General of ESA, Jean-Jacques Dordain, and the President of the Committee of the Regions, Mercedes Bresso, will open the Conference.

With the participation of:
The European Parliament, The European Commission, The European Council, The European Space Agency, The European Investment Bank, The European Committee of the Regions, The Belgian Presidency of the Council of the EU, Arianespace, Areva, ASI, Avio, CNES, DLR, EADS-Astrium, ECMWF, Eumetsat, Eutelsat, Eurospace, the Belgian High Representation for Space Policy, Nereus, OHB, Space Tec Capital, Telespazio, Thales Alenia Space, T-Systems and many others

Register online on the Conference website: