Skip to content

CEOI Challenge Workshop discusses UK interests in future Earth Observation satellite missions.

(September 2013) In the last 6 years, the CEOI has held a range of workshops and round tables meetings with the space community and assembled a portfolio of Earth Observation missions that the UK would like to be involved in. Over that period, ESA programme policy and future mission flight opportunities have evolved, making it timely to revisit this portfolio.

To do this, CEOI held a Challenge Workshop held on Friday 7th June 2013, which surveyed 17 UK mission ideas and invited experts to comment on mission selection, promotion and opportunities in the near term. The main focus was on UK interests in the development and delivery of future missions for Earth Observation, but the meeting also explored the preferred UK approach to the ESA Earth Explorer 9 selection process. The workshop built on discussions at the UK Space Agency Town Meeting (13th May).

For information on each of the 17 potential satellite missions discussed, please visit our website at If you are interested in discussing further any of these future potential space missions, please contact the CEOI Director, Professor Mick
Johnson: Tel: +44 (0)1438 774421 or email:

Notes to Editors:

The Centre for Earth Observation Instrumentation (CEOI) is a catalyst for the development of technologies for environmental and security monitoring from space. The CEOI was created in 2007 and is funded by the UK Space Agency and industry. The Centre has a key aim to develop the next generation of Earth observation instrumentation through the teaming of scientists and industrialists and the funding of leading edge projects. These projects reflect the imperatives associated with monitoring of climate change and the environment – investing in clearly identified gaps in instrumentation requirements, thus maximizing impacts of UK developed technologies in European programmes. The CEOI is led by Astrium Ltd, in partnership with the University of Leicester, Science and Technology Facilities Council / Rutherford Appleton Laboratory and QinetiQ Ltd.