Skip to content

High Level Group on maximising impact of EU Research and Innovation Programmes

The European Commission has set up a High Level Group of experts who will advise on how to maximise the impact of the EU’s investment in research and innovation. The group will be chaired by Pascal Lamy, President Emeritus of the Jacques Delors Institute.

It consists of 12 personalities appointed in a personal capacity. Over 350 candidates responded to an online call for expression of interest. The group will start its work in December 2016 and is expected to issue its report in June 2017.

The High Level Group will base its report, among others on:

  • the available Horizon 2020 interim evaluation results and factual evidence
  • the results of a European foresight exercise for future research and innovation policy
  • an assessment of the economic rationale for public research and innovation investment and its expected impact on jobs and growth

The members of the High Level Group

  • Chair: Pascal Lamy – President Emeritus, Jacques Delors Institute
  • Martin Brudermüller – Vice Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors and Chief Technology Officer, BASF SE
  • Mark Ferguson – Director General, Science Foundation Ireland and Chief Scientific Adviser to the Government of Ireland
  • Lykke Friis – Prorector for Education, University of Copenhagen
  • Cristina Garmendia – Chair, Fundación Cotec
  • Iain Gray – Director of Aerospace, Cranfield University
  • Jan Gulliksen – Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
  • Harri Kulmala – CEO of DIMECC Ltd, Tampere
  • Nevenka Maher – former dean, Faculty of Business & Management Sciences Novo mesto
  • Maya Plentz Fagundes – Managing Director, 50More Ventures
  • Lucyna A. Woźniak – Vice-Rector for Science and International Relations, Medical University of Łódź
  • Milena Žic Fuchs – Professor, University of Zagreb and Fellow, Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts

Soruce & Documents